Navratri Colours 2017

During Durga Puja festival, wearing dresses according to Navratri colours is quite popular. For the nine forms of Shakti (also known as Navdurga), nine different coloured dresses are worn by the devotees on each day of the festival to worship and please the divine feminine power. They are – Yellow, Red, Orange, Pink, Royal Blue, White, Grey and Green.

The festival is about celebrating the manifestation of Goddess Durga in nine different avatars – Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri. Navaratri celebrations vary from region to region in the country. One of the most followed traditions, especially in states of Maharashtra and Gujarat, is wearing clothes according to Navratri colour of the day and observing fast in honour of the respective form of Navdurga.

Day 1 September 21 - Yellow
Day 2 September 22 - Green
Day 3 September 23 - Grey
Day 4 September 24 - Orange
Day 5 September 25 - White
Day 6 September 26 - Red
Day 7 September 27 - Royal Blue
Day 8 September 28 - Pink
Day 9 September 29 - Purple

The festival of Sharad Navratri is about the victory of good over evil. Goddess Durga killed the mighty demon king, Mahishasura when all Gods failed to save the universe from his tyranny. As per Rambha Kalpa, Goddess Durga in the form of 18 handed Ugrachandi killed Mahishasura. However, as per Neelalohita Kalpa, 16 handed Bhadrakali killed Mahishasura, and as per Shwetavaraha Kalpa, ten-handed Katyayani killed Mahishasura. The ferocious form of Maa Durga is worshipped by devotees to seek blessings for a happy and prosperous life. The rituals during Navratri festival is not just limited to dressing according to sacred colours but also sees nine-day long religious fastings, recitation of Durga Saptashati and Kanya Puja among others. We wish all the devotees of Maa Durga, a very Happy Navratri 2017.

Hindu Kharmas Calendar 2017 ( हिंदू खर्मस )

Kharmas is an inauspicious month in Hindu calendar followed in North India. In 2017, Kharmas is marked from December 16, 2017 to January 14, 2018. Another Kharmas period is from from March 14, 2017 to April 13, 2017. The period is considered to be a bad period and marriages, house warming are not held. Kharmas is followed mainly in Bihar, Jharkhand and in parts of eastern Uttar Pradesh.Annually, Kharmas is the period from mid December to mid January and also from mid March to mid April.

As per the beliefs, the month of Kharmas is inauspicious. In some parts of the country, Kharmas are known as Mal-Mas.  Basically, the month of Kharmas is followed by the people of North India. Therefore, Kharmas is observed in the states of Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. It should be noted that Kharmas are not observed on the eastern, southern and western regions of India. According to the south calendar, this is the Margazhi month and is believed to be highly rewarding for the matters related to spirituality.

During Kharmas Refrain From

During the duration of Kharmas, some specific activities are strictly prohibited in the Hindu community. For this one one month, people do not initiate any new tasks or you can say that during this time, making any new beginning is not considered favorable. Here, are some activities which you should avoid during this inauspicious period:

  1. Construction of house or any other building should not be started, once Kharmas begin. This also includes refraining from buying the raw materials for the same.
  2. Auspicious occasions like marriage ceremony (Vivah), house warming ceremony (Griha Pravesh), engagement are also avoided.
  3. Purchasing any kind of property or land should be avoided as well.
  4. This time period is not considered good for buying new vehicle.

What To Do During Kharmas

It is believed that on the last day of Kharmas, making donations and charities yields fruitful results. As donations, you can offer food, jaggery and clothes to the needy people.

Why Avoid Making New Beginnings During Kharmas?

It is believed that the period of Kharmas is unlucky or inauspicious; therefore making any new beginning during Kharmas month do not yield rewarding results. For this reason, new beginnings should be made after this month gets over. Anyone who do not follow the month of Kharmas, will be on the risk of being ill fated.


Anant Chaturdashi Vrat ( अनंत-चतुर्दशी-व्रत)

The 14th day of the bright half of Bhadrapad (Aug-Sep) is called Anant Chaturdashi. On this auspicious day Lord Vishnu sleeping on the bed Anant (the serpent shesh), in the milky ocean is worshipped and meditated upon. People also observe a vow in honour of Vishnu, which if kept for 14 years is supposed to bring wealth.

This vrat is to be performed on Bhadrapada shukla chaturdashi. After bathing and attiring in red, decorate the altar with devotion. Keep a kalash on the south of the altar in which you invite the Lord. Keep 7 darbhas tied to each other to represent ananta. Keep a red thread with 14 knots on the altar. Worship lord with 14 variety of flowers and 14 variety of leaves. The prasad for this vrat is Atiras. Make 28 of them and serve them to brahmins. Those attendning should be given food and respect. Do this vrat for 14 years each year replacing the thread that was worn in the earlier year. 15th year do the udyapana.

Anant Chaturdashi Vrat Katha

There was a Brahmin with the name Sumant. His wife Diksha gave birth to girl child who named Sushila. After the death of Diksha, Sumant married another woman Karkash. Karkash was not at all caring towards Sushila so when Sushila grew younger she decided to marry Kaundinya to get rid of the ruthless behavior of her step mother.

Once Sushila joined a group of women bathing in the river. These women were offering prayers to Anant. In order to get endowed with his blessings Sushila prayed as well and in a little time-span became quite rich. One day when her husband observed the Anant string in her hand he became annoyed and told her that they were rich not because of a mere thread but because of his wisdom. Saying this he took the thread and burnt it.

After this incident their economic status fell considerably. So he soon realized the importance of Anant string. He decided that he will undergo penance. He vowed for fourteen years and got his wealth back.

Happy Ganesha Chathurthi 2017

“Vakra-Tunndda Maha-Kaaya Surya-Kotti Samaprabha
Nirvighnam Kuru Me Deva Sarva-Kaaryeshu Sarvadaa”

                                                             “वक्रतुण्ड महाकाय सुर्यकोटि समप्रभ
निर्विघ्नं कुरु मे देव सर्वकार्येषु सर्वदा”

Image result for ganesh

Mauritius is a culturally rich heritage island marking unity in diversity. The number and diversity of public holidays and festivals indicate the rich heritage of the island’s people and its ethnic diversity. Mauritius has a number of public holidays of different religious festivals thus marking its ethnic diversity.

Ganesh Chaturthi is one of the public holidays in Mauritius. Hinduism being the main culture of Mauritius with 52 percent of the population, all the Hindus of the island country celebrates this festival with great fervor. All the devotees of Lord Ganesha do pujas in the temples and celebrate the festival. People from different towns and villages join in the process of the immersion of lord Ganesha’s idol. They all gather along the beaches of the island country and take part in the immersion ceremony. The statue of lord Ganesha is also worshipped in many family and households and then these statues are also taken to the rivers and seas for immersion.